Another 6 countries can fly to Malta from 1 July 2020

Gozo climate

Local media reported today that another 6 countries can fly to Malta from 1 July 2020.

These countries are:

  • Italy
  • France
  • Poland
  • Spain
  • Croatia
  • Greece

Although according to the Times of Malta:  “…restrictions on flights from certain regions in France, Spain and Italy, including northern Italy, would apply.”

So while partial restrictions still apply on when the Malta International Airport opens on Wednesday 1 July, there will be no more restrictions on all flight destinations from 15 July onwards.


19 Countries allowed in Malta



The first flights to Malta International Airport from 19 countries allowed in Malta are from the European Union and Schengen Area Member States and start on Wednesday 1 July 2020.

  • Iceland
  • Slovakia
  • Cyprus
  • Lithuania
  • Israel
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • Estonia
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Austria
  • Luxembourg
  • Germany
  • Czech Republic
  • Finland
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Sardinia (region)
  • Sicily (region)

According to local media, more destinations will be added in the coming weeks and months after each destination is scientifically analysed based on performance results of its past and current COVID-19 situation.

There will be no longer 14-day mandatory quarantine on arrival in Malta for nationals coming from these countries.

Please click here for the initial schedule.

or download this file

flighs to Malta 2020 – S20-Schedule-as-of-1st-July


The ‘new way’ of travelling*

  • Book your ticket online to reduce gatherings such as at ticket machines
  • Check-in in advance and electronically
  • Wear a facemask at the station, port or airport
  • During the journey you might be separated from other passengers especially if you are travelling alone
  • You may not be able to buy food and beverages on board to avoid contact as much as possible
  • At the hotel keep a distance of two metres in communal areas
  • Follow respiratory etiquette such as coughing or sneezing into a paper tissue or your elbow

*based on European Commission guidelines

Courtesy: Times of Malta

Malta holidays

Visit Valletta – European Capital of Culture 2018



On October 12, 2012, Valletta, Malta’s capital city was officially declared the European Capital of Culture (ECoC). During the past six years, the Valletta 2018 Foundation did a superb job to prepare the Maltese capital city for this European title of prestige.

Over 400 events will be taking place all around the islands of Malta and Gozo to celebrate all Maltese and European heritage as one people – unity in diversity.

The official opening of Valletta 2018 (V.18) is on Saturday, January 20th 1900hrs.

But in practice, what’s Valletta 2018 all about? Watch out this video.


If you’ve never been to Malta and Gozo, then enjoy this colourful walk through the noble city of Valletta, named after Grand Master Jean Parisot de la Valette.


…and why not? Watch the latest spectacular laser show on the facade of the GrandMaster Palace in Valletta celebrating V.18.


Thinking of visiting Malta this year?
Check out all the events happening at Valletta 2018 here

… and stay tuned for all the local updates we’ll bring you straight from the European Capital of Culture 2018!